CONFESSIONS OF A REALITY TV SHOW FANATIC!

Leave a comment

April 16, 2013 by Coastal CoEd

Ok guys here it goes… REALITY TELEVISION! Yes, I said it!

It’s becoming much more addicting than ever! But at the same time, it’s like producers are coming out with shows that have the same old storyline.

UGH! It’s either the overly dramatized black women or the stuck-up white women. It’s annoying. For instance: the VH1 new TV series Gossip Game, which is about women in the hip hop industry. The show is just stupid and it seems as if tv execs just needed to make up a show to fill the time slot. It’s ridiculous and makes women of all races look crazy!

But back to RTV being addicting. So as I was lying down, eating my Hello Kitty ice cream (don’t judge), watching Teen Mom 2, Kourtney & Kim Take Miami, and Love & Hip Hop NYC, I noticed that I was more tuned in than ever!

 

So I asked myself, what is it about these shows that have me so hypnotized?

Well, I came up with this: when I look at these shows, I feed off the drama and the glamorized lifestyles. It makes us females feel tawdry and dirty because we know we could never humiliate ourselves like that, so we watch others do it. It’s like these people invite us into their lives and we accept every offer. It’s kind of funny the way we find time in our busy schedules just to look down at the drama of celebrities’ lives.

But on a deeper level, the question is: HOW MUCH OF THESE REALITY SHOWS SHOULD WE WATCH BEFORE WE BECOME CONSUMED WITH TOO MUCH? AFTER ALL, IT’S ALL SCRIPTED? (RIGHT?)

What do you think?