Gotta Wonder about Some College Women’s Fashion Choices…

12

October 24, 2012 by Coastal CoEd

In honor of “Love Your Body Day” that was on Wednesday, this post will be about five of the top college fashion trends that women wear to class. What is appropriate? What is not appropriate? What should just be worn out to the club? What should be worn to the beach? And what do all these looks say about women and how people perceive us? Please feel free to comment and let me know what you think!

Short Shorts & Basically a Bikini Top:

Okay, I love cropped shirts just as much as the next girl. But in my opinion, these should stay at the beach. I don’t need to see your stomach when you sit down. And I most definitely do not need to see your entire back when you bend over to pick up your pencil. Why don’t you put a shirt on underneath the cropped shirt for class and then take it off to go to the beach or the club. And just as a rule of thumb, shorts for class should be about arms length, maybe a little shorter if you’re feeling risky, but if I’m seeing your butt every time you take a step, they are too short! When guys see a woman in an outfit like that, very little is left to the imagination.

Short Tight Dresses with Cutouts:

This to me is a cute trend for dance clubs. By all means, go on out and feel funky in your little cutout dress. However, if it’s showing a little too much, then maybe you’re putting the wrong message out there. For class, this is not appropriate. No one wants to see this, except for maybe some of the guys. But this is so distracting when I’m taking a test and all I can pay attention to is how the guy beside me has his eyes glued to your side. Please. Just keep this in your closet for those nights out. It’s really just not a day outfit. It’s not really even appropriate for tailgates!

Sheer Tops:

I love a sheer top. And with a bandeau bra for the night out or for walking around at the beach, really cute! But for class, please add a shirt on underneath. And no, not another see through shirt. An actual tank top or shirt underneath. This to me is just not appropriate, especially if your belly button ring is dangling underneath. Guys see this and literally picture you naked. In fact, maybe they don’t need to if you’re wearing a bra underneath.

 

Cocktail Shorts:

Oh cocktail shorts. Sigh. I love them! I really do! And for nighttime, they are so cute. And during the daytime, if they’re long and paired with a nice top, super cute! But if I can see your butt when they ride up, because believe me they do, then we have a problem. People do not want to be seeing this walking on campus or waiting behind you in CINO. They just don’t. It’s just not okay. Especially if there is a “barely there” top attached.

Sky High Heels:

Why do women do this to themselves?! If you’re trucking all around campus, then why do you wear these? Unless you have calluses that prevent your feet from feeling a thing, I would guess that your feet are pretty raw after walking a mile around campus in four inch heels. I get it. They’re cute and they matched your outfit. But what kind of an outfit are you wearing that requires high heels during the day time? Probably not one you’re comfortable in. If you have a meeting or something that you want to look your best in, throw the heels in your car. Change into them letter. But do yourself, and your feet, a favor, and don’t wear them around. Coastal is a small campus, but I know your dogs are probably barking at the end of the day if you’re wearing pinchy-toed heels.

 

Note: These opinions are mine and mine alone. I do not intend on hurting anyone’s’ feelings. I am just stating how I feel. If you get dressed in the morning and you are completely confident and you feel beautiful in what you have on, then more power to ya! Who the heck am I to tell you not to wear it? Confidence is the number one priority in any young woman’s life in my opinion; especially in a society like this.

12 thoughts on “Gotta Wonder about Some College Women’s Fashion Choices…

  1. Rebecca says:

    I cannot help but sometimes cringe when I see some of the articles of clothing that girls around campus wear. But I can also honestly say that I am not surprised. Our current culture does not condone these ways of dressing, it tends to encourage it. If you look at any magazine or advertisement, you would quickly learn that sex sells. Especially women’s bodies. I do not think that all of these girls around campus are trying to sell their bodies (although some may be), they just see it so often in our culture and they think that that makes it acceptable. This way of thinking can be dangerous so hopefully this post will get girls to think before they dress.

  2. Jessica says:

    This post was much needed. I love everything you said about college fashion here at Coastal. I am very into fashion! I definitely agree that crop tops should be saved for the beach and not for class. What are people thinking when they get ready for class in the morning? I can only imagine! Cocktail shorts are very in style right now and like you, I love them too. They should really be saved for going out though. Women around campus should dress to impress, but also respect themselves. There is a time and a place for everything and every outfit! I honestly like wearing sweatpants and a sweatshirt to class!

  3. Brittany Fernandez says:

    I believe that what you are saying is true. Women are judged by what they look like every day of their life, and just like you said, confidence is what is most important. In WGST, we talked about different issues women face, and this its definitely one of them. Love your body day was to express that one should feel comfortable in their own skin, right? So if someone feels comfortable wearing short shorts or a sheer top, then let’ em. I do agree that there are certain times to wear or not wear an outfit, but that is their judgement. Feminism fights for equality, and how is the world ever going to become “equal” for men and women if women are fighting women. We all need to be on the same page, but that is obviously not possible. How can we ask someone else to do something we’re not? Lets ask ourselves this question. everyone should feel beautiful in their own skin and if this is how some girls feel most beautiful, then I think we should all stop judging them, and let them do what makes them happy.

  4. Tarryn says:

    I personally feel as if women are judged everyday for the things they wear, whether it be to the beach, to the club or to class. Women are allowed to express their inner selfs, even if that means wearing a sheer top, or really high heels. If a women has the confidence to wear what ever they feel beautiful in, then the more power to them! I feel as if women have to worry so much about what other people think about their clothes, but why should we? So what if another woman does not like what youre wearing, and so what if guys look at you? A women dresses a certain way for a reason, which could be to attract the oppisite sex! Women should be able to wear whatever, whenever, and not have a strict schedule of where and when to wear a sheer top, or cut out dress.

  5. Courtney says:

    YES! Everything you talked about was so true, and you see it everyday. Some things I just do not understand like the sheer tops with no shirt underneath what is the purpose. I love that people are confident with their bodies and I applaud that but have some respect for other people (especially the older professors). Another thing was the high heels sometimes I hate walking in regular shoes you will not catch me prancing around in some pumps! If you like what you have on then own it girl. Other peoples opinion should not really matter but somethings should be saved for the club. A clubbing outfit can easily be turned into something class appropriate. You never know who you may run into dress for success EVERYDAY!

  6. valencia says:

    I feel that certain clothes are club attire. I dont feel that women should be judged by what they wear. In class we read a story about people who challenged the fact that people were being judged by what they wore. Your fashion and how you dress is your business. If i thought something was cute i would definitely wear it. Women are usually called names if they have on clothes that is to revealing. If it is hot and you want to show a little skin i think you should do just that. On second hand there are appropriate clothes for appropriate places. If you were going to a job interview, you wouldn’t wear something that you would wear to the club. Letting your personality show through your fashion is very common. When women put on certain things they don’t think that they would be juge to be a slut or something bad they just show their sense of style. Older people often think what young people have on these days are inappropriate because back in the days they wore skirts down to their ankles. Time brings on changes and different styles. When you go to the club, you wear things that are a bit more sexy and revealing, but all your professors doesn’t want to see your body out. Certain women should wear certain things that fit the surroundings.

  7. Sam says:

    Girls clothing choices are a lot different today then they ever have been. Showing more skin, and flaunting body parts are now what most girls are about, especially teens. It’s almost as if being conservative doesn’t exist anymore. The way a lot of girls dress does not flatter their bodies, and that is part of the reason why girls are said to be sex objects these days. Cut out dresses should be saved to wear to night clubs or a party type scene. Lots of girls can pull off the sheer top look, but as long as you have a bandeau or something underneath, not just a bra. Also, a lot of girls need to learn how to dress appropriately to their size and weight. Short shorts are okay, as long as your butt isn’t hanging out, and they aren’t skin tight and make you look like you’re legs are bulging out. Some women just need to be reminded what type of clothing is okay to wear to certain places.

  8. Molly says:

    I couldn’t agree more with your observations and opinions. Yes, confidence is so very important to young women, but these women need to understand that there are other ways to be confident. This post relates to a class discussion I had a few weeks ago about body politics, which describes the ways our attitudes about the treatment of our bodies are shaped by and reflective of cultural power. How would dressing like this go over in other countries that may have a more strict view of women and how they should dress? Does this type of behavior really reflect our society as a whole? As unfortunate as it is to admit, I’d say so. Somewhere along the line our society has become less strict about certain things, such as appropriate clothing, and I believe it’s important to get back on track to reflect a more positive message about our culture.

  9. Courtney Lopresti says:

    I think a lot of girls today wear things more for attention, whether it’s good or bad instead of thinking about how they really look, or if they are revealing way too much skin in a bad way. I agree with the body con/ cutout dress statement. Those are cute for clubs, but definitely not to wear to class or any fancy or classy event. Sheer tops can be ok if worn with a bandeau or a tanktop underneath, it just depends on how it is worn and with what. Too many girls wear shorts that barely cover their butts today and are very unflattering. Shorts are meant to cover your butt and accentuate your legs, but many buy the shortest shorts and most of the time when butts hang out of shorts it is very gross, and un flattering. Just wear bikini bottoms if you want people to see your butt! I feel that clothing trends can be taken too far and women need to remember everything is ok in moderation.

  10. Robin Knox says:

    Being an over 50-year old female ‘student’ at CCU, I agree with your comments 100%. Maybe it’s the time that I grew up in, or maybe it’s the fact that my Mother would have killed me (actually I think it would be a tie between my Mother and Father) if I went out of the house wearing anything like what you talked about in your blog; but when I see girls dress like this for SCHOOL – I ask myself ‘WHY?’.

    I’m not a total prude and I agree that these clothing items are excellent and cute clubbing clothes. But I have to admit that when I see girls wearing these items around campus… is it to 1) impress the guys or 2) to look ‘better’ or ‘hotter’ then their girlfriends? Either way, think about the guys or friends you’re around if they only want to be with you cus’ you look so sexy in that sheer top and SHORT shorts.

    For example, there is a girl in one of my classes that wears 4-inch heeled shoes and the first thing I thought was – she MUST be a dancer (ex: Stripper) because I can’t see why anyone would wear them for anything other then clubbing or when they’re out on a date. If I saw her at a club, I’d just think – what cute shoes!

    Like you also said — everyone should be free to wear what they want, I just wish women would realize they can show their confidence and beauty without making themselves an ‘object’. I guess they’ll just have to wait until they’re in their 40’s or 50’s before they realize the same.

  11. Julia says:

    I feel what you’re saying is nothing but the truth. Women are judged by a lot of things in this society but I feel their clothes is what causes the most uproar from the opposite sex. When a man sees a woman out and about on a regular school day with the most revealing clothes his level of respect for her is automatically going to plummet because his initial thought is “she’s trying to draw attention for sex.” Wanting to look “sexy”, in my opinion, should be saved for the nightclubs and house parties. A potential boss could approach a woman that’s dressed “sexy” and automatically know that’s not what he wants his company to be based upon, a woman with a low level of respect for herself. I also feel confidence is important because in this generation, making someone feel bad about their appearance has become the norm but I don’t feel one has to dress revealing to empower their confidence.

  12. I definitely agree with you, women wear clothes that are a little too revealing, though some of the fashions are very cute some people push it too far. One thing I have noticed about many girls is that many of them wear thongs that hang out of their own clothes not only is that WAY too revealing but it’s disgusting. I feel like some girls need a better sense of how to cover things up.

What do you think?